There are a lot of people who come to college with a specific major that they want to pursue, however I would imagine that there are many students who change out of their initial majors before it’s all said and done. It helps to have some direction in which way you want to go, however you don’t always have to know immediately.

When I first came to college, I knew that I wanted to make movies. In the back of mind I was unsure about the reality of that happening, so for two years I was undeclared.

During these two years I was rarely motivated. It can be difficult, at least it was in my case, to apply yourself if you don’t know where you are going. My advice to incoming freshman is to do your best to come up with ideas of what you might want to do.

To those who are already in college and undeclared in your major, don’t be discouraged. It is true however, that eventually you will have to make up your mind one way or another.

It is important to understand that you have to make a living, this is an undeniable fact. Money is not everything, however you need money to live and support yourself and possibly a family.

Hone in on what interests you, and do your best to make a realistic and thoughtful decision on your future.

Blessings,

G.B

Leave a Reply

